16
Oct
16

My 1st attempt at building a portable tiny home

5ft x 10 ft utility trailer bed and my beginning planks.

5ft x 10 ft utility trailer bed and my beginning planks.

I thot I might learnt a little something from Doug…. enuf to run the tools to build a tiny home perhaps? Well this isnt something that Doug would do, build on a tiny budget, small on weight and no resistance to impact. Not a sound building in his opinion, and should not even waste time on it…

My workspace setup next to the power pedestal.

My workspace setup next to the power pedestal.

So it is entirely up to me, if it is to be. We’ll see if what little I know can amount to anything.

Framing the floor.

Framing the floor.

It was mentally strenuous to work out the construction details, but it was harder if I had to start drawing it on paper. I tried, but all I have is just the layout. Making up for the lack of construction drawing is my willingness to just go out, chop up some planks and screw them together and see what I got and then make my next move.

My cute tools. Note the purpil pencil. Fancy eh?

My cute tools. Note the purpil pencil. Fancy eh?

Naturally my construction plans are fluid and changing all the time… even the finished dimensions is not fixed until the last … 🙂 heeheehee… That is my way of thinking, why limit myself to a fixed plan when I can change it all the time?

Removing the trailer... camper didnt stay on the blocks...

Removing the trailer… camper didnt stay on the blocks…

And it was all working out just fine, I was able to construct the floor right on the trailer…. then I wanted to remove the trailer so that I can screw in the plywood underneath….

Insulating the floor.

Insulating the floor.

I worked real hard at jacking it up, putting blocks under the floor and then pulling the trailer…. opps…. the trailer is out but the jacks toppled. Its really hard to work on uneven ground and just a little nudge from the rail was going to push it over.

Luckily not much damage… phew… but who needs the extra work to set it up on the blocks again.

Well, at least I recovered and completed the floor with insulation. Yep, I am not skipping steps here. Trying to do a real good job.

 

0 Responses to “My 1st attempt at building a portable tiny home”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,786 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

