04
Aug
16

Miss my cabin

We sailed for about 2 weeks, and hang out with our friends at Cortes Bay for a week… well, I miss my cozy little cabin and wonder how my garden is doing. Is my drip watering working? That, and I am expecting a visitor from the orient.

So I head back home, myself. But, I needed Doug bring me over to Campbell River on Calliste. There is no easy to get from Cortes Bay to Campbell River without a car, and I didn’t want to impose on our friends…. Especially when I am getting on that 7:30 Island Link bus.

We made it to Q-cove in 3 hours, at slack time. Doug anchored and I paddled to the marina and tied up, went to the TruValue store that’s just 5 mins walk up the hill and hurried back. I think it only took me 30 mins at most, including the launching and retrieval of the kayak. By the time with head out thru the North opening to Q-cove, we were fighting a current of 2 kns. Over the 3 miles of getting from Q-cove to April Point, our SOG drop with every min that goes by. At some point, our SOG was maybe just 1 kn, and I was beginning to worry that we have to head back downstream because we simply cant make any headway.

Guess we throttle up and eventually got pass the more difficult parts of the channel and did manage to get into April Point. Phew.

Next day, we had a little engine drama. So we left about 15 mins later than planned… Oh no…. I have plenty of time for the bus, but Doug will be battling the current all the way down to Cape Mudge. He has only 1.5 hrs to make it pass before the current becomes too strong that it is impossible… and now -15 mins.

We continue best we can. Doug drop me off at K dock of Discovery marina in our usual swing by walk off method. 0645hrs. I have plenty of time to walk to the bus pick up point at Java Shack. I watch Calliste’s slow progress as I walk. At 1st it was a tad faster than my walk, but in 30mins it slowed way down, but still he is closing in on Cape Mudge.

0745hrs, watching Calliste from the bus as it moves along the coast. Doug is just about to pass Cape Mudge. I guess he’ll make it afterall. Messing around these high current flow areas are kinda exciting eh? Like sometimes you just don’t make it… ?

1200hrs, arrived at Victoria. Short walk to Coho ferry line. Next ferry 1500hrs. Long wait.

1645hrs, walked out thru US customs at Port Angeles. Had to rely on Google Map to direct me to the bus depot for bus 30 to Sequim. What would I do without my iGadgets?

1840hrs, on the last bus from Sequim to Port Townsend. They only run this bus in summer, so I was fortunate that I had internet in Cortes Bay to plan this route from the 730am bus to the 1840hrs bus. Again, what would I do without my iGadgets and the internet?

1930hrs, retrieved Fordie from Port Townsend Haven marina. Too pooped to have dinner.

 

0 Responses to “Miss my cabin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,808 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

