29
Jun
16

Getting power and water on my lot.

Right across my south prop line is the transformer

Right across my south prop line is the transformer

Now that the power situation in my SG flat is taken care of, I am back to work on my US prop. Time for the crew to come in for power and water installation.

View of the conduits going in at my South prop line.

View of the conduits going in at my South prop line.

There is a sequence here that we must follow. 1st, I pay the water connection fee $1755 to the city water department and the power connection fee $520 to the power utility department. Then I had to dispute where they had wanted to install the water meters (I paid for a dual tap) and which box they were going to tap power from. If I left it to them, I would have to pay a lot more $$$ for trenching these onto my south property line. So I learn to be very careful when dealing with them.

My favorite little tool... only if I can afford one myself.

My favorite little tool… only if I can afford one myself.

It was a few weeks before the water department came out to install the 2 water meters on my south property line, as I dictated it.

My work wagon with little spare conduits

My work wagon with little spare conduits

Then my contractors come in to install the power conduit to the transformer box and hook up from the water outlet to my pedestal. Of course they had to dig up the driveway to do that, so it was no driving out for a day.

Setting up the base, soon to pour concrete.

Setting up the base, soon to pour concrete.

The guys with that little excavator are back. With their help, Doug set the power pedestal upright. By the time they were done, we have water at the pedestal. Hurray!

This was such a simple job, they were done in 6 hours, but still it cost me $2100…

Me churning the concrete with a rake.

Me churning the concrete with a rake.

Then its our turn to complete the electrical work. Well, most people would have hired a electrician, I suppose. But hey, I was an engineer, I suppose I could do this as a property owner and save me some $$$. Plus Doug is there to assist 🙂 …. in theory only, as he broke his back on the day we were going to pour concrete.

Me working on those stiff 10 AWG wires!

Me working on those stiff 10 AWG wires!

Ok, so I learned how to glue those conduits together, set them up before pouring the concrete in. Lucky me, hole for the concrete base was already dug before his back went out…. 1 less thing to do for me.

PUD at work. Cool little wire spool trailer.

PUD at work. Cool little wire spool trailer.

But its up to me to lift those 60lbs bags into the wheel barrow, and mixing it up with water to the right consistancy. Then shoveling it into the form that he built on the day before. 1 bag at a time, 4 bags of 60lbs premix was what it took. Now to wait for it to set… I am pooped. My turn for a bad back…
Next day… look! its me working on the circuit breaker connections. Think I got it all right? Even Doug is impressed that I did the wiring so nicely.

Thats it, meter is in!

Thats it, meter is in!

When thats done, went online to apply for an L&I inspection for a new service, $97. PUD would not come until inspection is done. We were pleasantly surprised that the inspector came within 12 hours of the application. Well, he must be happy with what I have done, cos I got the yellow passed sticker 🙂

Back of the pedestal, 3 30 Amps and 1 50 Amp.

Back of the pedestal, 3 30 Amps and 1 50 Amp.

Was surprise that the PUD guys showed up next day to tie us in. In just 2 hours, they installed the underground wire thru the conduit and to the meter. We are powered up!

Thats it folks. Was it that difficult after all?

0 Responses to “Getting power and water on my lot.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,091 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
June 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

