20
Apr
16

Is it time for my favorite food yet?

The cruising life takes me far away from home and my favorite foods. Surely I can find Chinese take outs, Japanese foods and Asian stores for ingredients in US and Canada. Right, but they dont taste the same and dont carry a large selection of condiments or instant noodles like they do in NTUC back home.

Nasi Lemak that I cook.

Nasi Lemak that I cook.

With my regular once 1 year trip back home, stocking my travel bags full of my special foods and condiments is the most important on my shopping list. Of course I am limited to what the customs would allow, but 40kg worth of luggage space filled with groceries goes a long way 🙂 … yep, I dont transfer clothing between my 2 home base, just food.

Ayam brand Chili and Curry tuna

Ayam brand Chili and Curry tuna

One of my favorite breakfast is Nasi Lemak. The traditional ones are anchovies, chili paste and rice wrapped in banana leaves. Well, banana leaves are difficult to bring and keep fresh, but the fried anchovies and chili paste are packaged for international travel. Canned coconut milk are easily available at all grocery stores, so is jasmine rice… I personally prefer Walmart for Asian foods than Safeway, but for all fresh ingredients, Safeway is much better.

Another of my favorite is the canned Ayam Chili and Doug likes the Curry Tuna. Nothing like these over here… the Thai brands dont come close. These goes well with soupy rice and a stir fry veggie for a easy prep healthy meal.

And not to forget the Myojo Tom Yam noodles! Mee hoon Soto! Char Mee! …. So looking forward to getting the real thing in my tummy. … and I fly in 12hrs from now 🙂

0 Responses to “Is it time for my favorite food yet?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,389 times
April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

