12
Mar
16

The long year

The convenient way to building... clear everything 1st.

The convenient way to building… clear everything 1st.

This year is really 1 day longer than usual 🙂 … and I could use that additional day. I been busy at work at Safeway gas station in PT over the winter, am happy to have that income, medical insurance and discounts on groceries. Plus I learn all the ins and outs of earning points, getting fuel discounts, as well as meeting the locals and them meeting me. Its a cultural exchange something that a new person in town ought to do to integrate into the new society.

Then I took 4 weeks off, and spent 3 days travelling to/fro Singapore and 3 weeks at home taking care of my rentals… Spent the 1st night in SG at my sister’s place in Punggol. My view out of the window the next morning is lots of orange dirt… New construction… sigh… soon too, I will be wishing I have all that equipment on my property in the US. But clearing everything aint right in my books.

My new bunk...

My old couch…. my new bunk

3 weeks went by quickly, as I have lots of people to catch up with and lots of work to do moving myself out of the potentially lucrative room that I occupy for 2 months in a year, into a lesser room that would still be comfy for those short durations. Got myself a new tenant, I am all set to enjoy the little bit more pocket money.

Proudly posing with my biggest tree section.

Proudly posing with my biggest tree section.

Back to the US, back to the laborous chores… look at the big chunk that Doug just saw up. Thats the base of the biggest tree he cut down. We are preparing for the drainfields to be installed, hence more trees are downed and more logs are stacked up … higher.

This was also one of the rainiest winter in 2 decades in PT. My dirt driveway is all slickery…. I made Fordie go into ditches and spin mud trying to pull the trailer and logs … got her all mud up. .. sigh… where is the rain when your car is dirty?

Well, gotto rest and then back to the back breaking work at dawn.

0 Responses to “The long year”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,351 times
March 2016
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

