08
Jan
16

Frozen, not snowed

Warm and cozy in my cabin, White and cold outside

Warm and cozy in my cabin, White and cold outside

When I tell my friends back home that its really cold these days, they always ask “Is it snowing?” … They cant understand yet that freezing is colder than snowing. That all that white everywhere is frost and not snow.

Yesterday's ice, this morning's frost.

Yesterday’s ice, this morning’s frost.

Whats the diff, they ask… Well, as I now know, snow falls from the sky, whereas frost is frozen dew and ice is frozen water. Altho ice is 0″C, it takes -4″C to freeze ice and over a period of time, depending on the area and volume of water. So when it freeze, its at least -4″C.

Frozen dew on everything outside

Frozen dew on everything outside

Since snow is formed in the sky and drops to earth, that means the sky is at least -4″C. However, where snow falls, it could be a few degrees above freezing. As it also takes time to melt ice, seeing ice on the ground doesn’t mean its cold, only that it is not yet warm enough to melt away all the ice.

Flaky frost on a string. Why?

Flaky frost on a string. Why?

I dun need to explain all this, just airing my observations that’s all. I am learning a new way of life here in the PNW, and sharing with my tropical friends.

I am so fascinated by this string of ice crystal flakes. It seems to me that ice crystalizes in different shapes when on different things. Slivers on the hose, and flakes on the ropes? Why? I knock off a section to expose the string… and look, frost on ground is like sugar.

Hitting the Larry Scott trail on a fine cold day.

Hitting the Larry Scott trail on a fine cold day.

It read 25″ F on the thermometer, that’s about -6″C. Seems like a good time to go walking :), yes its cold, so bundle up and just do it. My cabin is just 500ft from the Larry Scott trail and I have never gone walking on it… shame on me. A cold day like this seems to be the only time I have to take a break from all that work… cos its slippery and dangerous to be working on the property, cos its too hard to split frozen logs… yep, its time to go walking.

0 Responses to “Frozen, not snowed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,351 times
January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

