25
Oct
15

Back to cabin in Fall.

A small Alder tree leaning on the cabin.

A small Alder tree leaning on the cabin.

And a fallen tree on my cabin was the 1st thing I saw driving onto my driveway. What a rude surprise. Yep, the few days of bad weather we experienced up there in the Strait of Georgia have something to do with this.

Snap cut is great!

Snap cut is great!

So what do you do when you come back to unexpected problems? Sigh…. fortunately no big damage, I could fix it myself… And myself it is, as Doug is still up at Cortes.

My 1st corn harvest.

My 1st corn harvest.

Up on the roof with the snap cut tool, nipping away at the branches. The snap cut is great for cutting anything under 1″, above that will need the hand saw or chain saw… So I just nip away what I can and pushed the tree over the side. Cutting up the tree will just have to wait till Doug is back cos I am not a fan of running the chainsaw… it bullies me…

Boiled and buttered!

Boiled and buttered!

On the brighter side of things, its time for my 1st corn harvest… They don’t look too good, but they do taste pretty good. I am just happy to have some edible big kernels. It taste like success! To me it does.

Popping them out from the seed pods.

Popping them out from the seed pods.

And from all that blooming onion flowers earlier, these are the onion seeds. Will I successfully grow onions from these seeds? I guess we will know next season…

For now, winding up my gardening business and back to land clearing.

0 Responses to “Back to cabin in Fall.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,808 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

