03
Apr
15

1 month into my new surroundings

Last years firewood pile.

Last years firewood pile.

I have a routine now. 1 night on board Calliste, 1 night at the cabin. 1 night on Calliste to charge all my batteries, 1 night survive on 120Ah 12Vdc battery at the cabin. What a interesting twist, the cabin is on batteries and the boat is on power.

I made some improvements over the fireplace :)

I made some improvements over the fireplace 🙂

At the cabin, 1st thing, bring in 6 pieces of firewood and load of branches to oven dry for next batch of tinder. Set the dry batch of tinder on fire, spend 10 mins to get a fire going.

BTW, I added the brick wall and cinder blocks cubby holes. Practical and safety considerations. Next to add a tinder drying rack above the fireplace. Laying it on top right, like how I do it for now is not a good idea…

My onions are springing up :)

My onions are springing up 🙂

Then, its time to put on gloves and boots, go outside, check on garden, continue on my projects. Whether its lumberjacking, cleaning up after the tree is fallen, or digging out those nasty fern roots. .. I have lots to do, pick one… anyone is back breaking work.

The greatly improved  area outside the cabin

The greatly improved area outside the cabin

Am I fond of torturing myself? Why do I seem to look forward to working out on the fields? Well, the progress is very visual and satisfying … somehow. Look at my cabin, remember how it was just a cabin? Now it has onion patches, timber drying feature wall, stone steps…

A easy to cook and hearty meal.

A easy to cook and hearty meal.

And I guess, after all that work, I should be entitled to my junk food! 🙂 Working hard makes me hungry. ..

Bacon, fried cheese and lettuce on another. I added slices of green apples to feel a little less guilty about consuming all that grease… And then turnaround to eat lots of chips, Oreos and Pina Colada …

0 Responses to “1 month into my new surroundings”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,772 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

