15
Mar
15

Going into my new life… in style.

Finally, after 13 months since I applied to the US Greencard process, I have it in my pocket! At this time, I don’t plan to give up my Singapore citizenship and I don’t see that I would in future. I hope to return home every year for a visit, and get updated on my health screenings with my CPU mediSave account.

So I have gotten my flat in good order, tenants living in 2 bedrooms and I get to keep 2 rooms for ourselves when we do come back visiting. Got my one way ticket, packed my bags and on my way.

Free breakfast @ SilverKris lounge :)

Free breakfast @ SilverKris lounge 🙂

02Mar2015: Since I am now retired and my flight is at 0920hrs, I thot to save the cab money and use the MRT to the airport. Good thing that my lugs have wheels and its only 5mins walk to the MRT station… Well, but hauling 30kgs up a slope got me all sweating by the time I got to the station. After 2 quick connections, I did arrive at the airport T3 at 0700hrs, just like I planned to.

Selfie :) Comfy in my big seat.

Selfie 🙂 Comfy in my big seat.

In a few minutes, I was all checked in on SQ12 and enjoying a free breakfast at the SilverKris lounge… 🙂 … where some people robbed all the ikan bilis from the Nasi Lemak counter, leaving only peanuts, otah and eggs. The roast pork bun was probably the best of breakfast selection. Well, that would do… reward for all the effort that I spend in saving $20 cab fare.

SIN2SEA (2)

Lobster Termidor and Saffron rice.

And I don’t think there is another non-econ class passenger that came in on the MRT. .. And for lunch, I pre-ordered the lobster termidor when selecting my seat online… sounds better than it looks. Lobster taste okay, but I didn’t like the saffron rice and asparagus… well, theres lots of stuff to keep me all filled up anyway. … lots of champagne and whiskey on the rocks. Short stop at Narita, which I didn’t spend anytime shopping. That’s a 1st. Went to the lounge and get connected. I am so stuffed on the plane that there is just no craving. .. and I know, next on my menu is a Chirasen on board… which turned out to be rather disappointing in raw meat selection… think I should have ordered the ramen instead. This is a really long 02Mar2015 for me. After 18hrs of flying, it was still only just past noon when we arrive at LAX. Being amongst the 1st group that were off loaded, I got to the Immigration queue sooner than most, and Special processing took only 30 mins. Oh wow! That’s it, I am a US resident now. Next, got on Virgin America flight that was delayed from 1735 to 1945. … arriving at SEATAC at 2200hrs. Thank goodness for all the advanced communications that we enjoy these days for nothing, I was able to get Doug on facetime on the free wifi at LAX transit lounge, so that he knows my new schedule. … so when I walk out at the arrival pickup zone 3, Doug was there for me. Was past midnight when we finally got to Calliste @ Bayshore @ PT.

2 Responses to “Going into my new life… in style.”


  1. March 17, 2015 at 12:21 am

    Now you will be living “just up the road” from me. Well, sort of, I live in Bremerton.

  2. 2 funvinyldecals
    March 17, 2015 at 12:51 am

    Howdy neighbor. I go to Bremerton/Silverdale/Poulsbro sometimes. Getting stuff. There’s no Home Depot here in PT. Give me a shout if you head up this way.


Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,351 times
March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

