01
Mar
15

Finishing up on Bust O’Mama, among other things

Before, my badly scuffed up project table.

Before, my badly scuffed up project table.

This project took way much longer than I thot it would. Largely becos I wanted it to be almost perfect and was willing to put in that time and energy into making it so. … and I combine this resin project with resurfacing a few wood top tables that has been badly scuffed up from my doings in previous projects.

Too many projects going on at once...

Too many projects going on at once…

Like this little table, its my favorite little work bench. Its been with me for 14 years, so many projects had been done on it.

White tarp over shelves.

White tarp over shelves.

So to resurface it, I cut a piece of canvas to size, resin over the table top, stick the canvas on using a scraper to spread more resin on the canvas, cover top with trash bags, line pieces of wood over and clamp down. Clamping down is important, so that bubbles do not build between the top and canvas.

Clamps off. Color of resin.

Clamps off. Color of resin.

Oh yes and BTW, I also wanted to use that white tarp to cover the unsightly clutter of this strange looking shelf in the foyer. An easy project while waiting for resin to harden.

White paint on, next to resin over.

White paint on, next to resin over.

And now the resin’ed over tops are painted white. But paint isn’t durable, so 2 coats of resin over paint will make these tops project ready again.

Hope these little guys take root.

Hope these little guys take root.

Oh, did I say…. its Valentines’ Day… and I have no date and nothing better to do than to stay home and work on personal projects… my life is so sad.. for now. … sigh… how about some gardening in between painting.

Using vinyl stickers and heat gun.

Using vinyl stickers and heat gun.

Back to work on the Bust O’Mama. I wanted to achieve a matt black finishing that is wear resistant, so I tried vinyl stickers that is used to “wrap” over cars. It was really difficult to get it wrinkle free… as you can see… alrighty, so its back to resin and matt black spray paint.

Pot marks glaring at me...

Pot marks glaring at me…

Unfortunately, peeling off the vinyl caused some resin to flake off. These are areas that new resin did not bond well with the previous layers. Many more hours of repairs over several weeks before I feel it was good enuf for paint.

Are u ready Mama?

Are u ready Mama?

… but alas… pot marks that I thot wasn’t obvious showed up after the painting. … not ready to strip and spend many more hours and weeks on it. .. My 1st journey with Mamacat is just round the corner.

Alrighty Mama, ready or not, we are going on a adventure!

0 Responses to “Finishing up on Bust O’Mama, among other things”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,849 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

