27
Sep
14

Revisiting Marina Bay Sands

That's where we had lunch. I like the airy feel.

That’s where we had lunch. I like the airy feel.

Last time I was at MBS was in 2010, a Christmas morning walk with Doug. Then, MBS and surrounding area was so new and we chose a time that most people are still in bed to do our walk. It was really pleasant walk and the architecture was really interesting to my eyes.

Love the mother of pearl mosaic table top.

Love the mother of pearl mosaic table top.

Now, 4 of us gals from work are looking for a place to go hang out. We wanted buffet lunch where we can overfeed ourselves, and then it should be a interesting place that we could all enjoy walking it off. Well, maybe its the buy 3 get 1 free offer from a credit card, we decided on the buffet lunch at Rise in MBS hotel lobby 1.

Starters...

Starters…

We were kinda celebrating the “completion” of a major project…. kinda, because on hindsight the project was not yet complete on our day out… but we all needed a break, to do something different other than hanging out at office.

The Jap plate.

The Jap plate.

And now! Lets talk about the food! I love the cheese and olives variety. I think I will come back to this buffet just on the spread of cheese, olives and salad bar. The lamb rack was my favorite meat on this plate, the others are so-so lah. 🙂

My favorite meat of the meal!

My favorite meat of the meal!

I made up a beautiful plate of Japanese… scallops, octopi, tuna, salmon… I think the selection of Japanese meats is quite disappointing actually, and the quality of the meats taste frozen… not as tasty as going to Ichiban or any chain restaurant. .. but then, my expectation on Japanese food is much higher than most cos I have been exposed to real Japanese cuisine in Japan, where I stayed for months on end.

The giant wash basin ...

The giant wash basin …

At least these whelks made up for the disappointing Jap foods. Surprisingly, these were really tasty and seemed fresh! … but I think it was frozen and shipped, but I know that the thawing and steaming made all the difference. Got to do them just right, to retain the natural light sweetness, chewiness and texture. I tried buying these frozen whelks back in the US on 2 occasions. The 1st time, it got to tough and lost its tastiness. 2nd time round I got it almost right… and these were absolutely delicious.

Pose everybody!

Pose everybody!

There you have it, we could learn the art of sculling here in the malls...

There you have it, we could learn the art of sculling here in the malls…

All right, then there were the usual deserts… which is good too, but not something that I can really appreciate… that’s just me… deserts are not really my thing..

Next, walking off the full tummy… by now its really starting to feel uncomfortable… and while I don’t like admitting it, I threw it all out within the hour. … thank goodness for this great wash basin 😛 … nah… just kidding… but I did expel all that calories, into the proper channel.

Parting shot. From the long escalator up to the skywalk.

Parting shot. From the long escalator up to the skywalk.

There is a little Venice in the mall… guy in the back was sculling really well, I am impressed…but the boat is strangely painted in the Singapore river theme. … my opinion? I have a identity crisis… this is not like Venice, and sculling in the Singapore river was never our heritage… is this what you call fusion? I don’t think it mix well.

Us at MBS, plus another on the back end of the camera.

Us at MBS, plus another on the back end of the camera.

I call this the fake forest park, and the fake tree top restaurant.

I call this the fake forest park, and the fake tree top restaurant.

Okay, so its time to go. Finding our way to the car, parked at Gardens by the Bay… cos its cheaper to park there and easier to find parking too. Anyway, it offers a view of the mall that I never saw. I like the roof, simple and looks amazing from this angle.

And a picture moment with the landmark. A really interesting angle. Wonder why I never thought of composing a picture like that myself.

Finally walking into the fake forest… hazy day, yes the PSI was quite high, unfortunately. .. otherwise we would have gone to the sky park … well, that’s a great reason to come back to MBS again.. 🙂

0 Responses to “Revisiting Marina Bay Sands”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,772 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

