01
Jun
12

new look by painting

Currently, I am on work/vacation mode. 1 week in Tioman and 2 weeks back cycle. In the short 2 weeks at home, I work regular hours and if not too tired, I do a bit around the apartment.

Dirty blue room…

This weekend, my focus was painting. I moved stuff out of the rooms during the evenings prior to the weekend, checked my paint supply and lined tarps on the floor. There were some stuff, like those big cabinets that I couldnt move out, but I could push them around on the laminate floor without much damage. They were empty and light, so much less damage than if they were heavy.

All walls in this room are dirty looking light blue originally… maybe all it needed was some cleaning, but I wanted a different look. Something that is more my style.

New Sail White walls and ceiling.

I painted 2 coats white wash on the blue where I was going to paint with the very pure “Sail White” by Nippon, and on the walls that I was going to use “Harmony” blue, only 1 coat white wash. The ceiling was white to begin with, so white wash would be a waste of paint, time and energy. While waiting for the undercoats to dry, I went and had breakfast. The undercoat dries in about 2hrs. Anyway, I painted the ceiling with the Sail White, then got to the walls to be painted Sail White too, and then the Harmony blue… Finally, paint brush finishing on the edges. I think I have a pretty steady hand… 🙂

Sail White and Harmony blue.. i think its a nice combo..

Ceiling only needed 1 coat, but the walls needed 2 coats and in some areas, 3 coats, to get that creamy white look, giving the room a light airy feel. On the other side of the room are 2 walls of 2 coats Harmony blue. Deep colors too need 2 coats, otherwise its patchy … altho I think 3 coats will be much better, but I am running out of steam… 🙂

Moving furniture into place, thats were the big cabinets are going to be forever… I definately think this look works for me. .. yes, some loose junk that needs to be sorted.

 

 

0 Responses to “new look by painting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,632 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

