03
Sep
10

Mini tsunamis – a daily affair at Labrador park

Ferry wakes!

The power behind these waves flooded my little sit-on-top kayak when I was paddling off Labrador park.

Its coming in! Run if you can, take it bow on if you cant.

Was exploring the park on foot and decided to get a footage of these waves that swamped me. These are about 0.5m peak to bottom.

Starting to peak!

On that kayaking day, I had been stern to waves on the 1st hit, and bow to waves on the 2nd set of waves.

Mini surf

If I wasnt careful enuf to watch for them, I could have been side swiped by the waves and capsized!

Whooossshhhhhh!! Crashed...

Conclusions…  Must be prepared for the worst conditions when I kayak. Everything on my sit-on-top must float! 

Floating key fob

In the event of a capsize, I still can retrieve my paddle(floats), crocs(floats), camera(inside a water-tight tupperware and floats because there is air in it)… opps, my favorite hat wont float! Am going to make a float clip for it! Will really hate losing my hat by being careless! Already have a float for my keys

Plus, dont bring anything unneccessary. … like iPxxx. They sink and they die when wet! Let nature be your music. .. btw, I have 2 drowned phones! from previous kayaking days. Learned it the hard way!

So guys, have fun and dont lose anything!

0 Responses to “Mini tsunamis – a daily affair at Labrador park”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,772 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

