22
Aug
10

My yellow rice….

I remember my 1st taste of that bright colorful orange and yellow rice. I was 7 yrs old and we were at our grandparents’ neighbours’ kids birthday party. They were educated and modern Indians. Very friendly, have 2 girls around my age. We played together almost every weekend, when we visit Ah Gong and Ah Po.

Curry marinated chicken

Yes, back to the rice. It was a mix of bright orange rice kernels and yellow rice kernels and some less colored(whitish ones). I dont remember when I became a rice fan, must be those days when I havent develop any memory… Anyway, I was so fascinated by that colorful rice and I always wondered how they made it. I got a big serving of the rice, and some curry and soury pickled vegetable, sat down in a corner, went about separating and re-grouped the rice kernels by their color. I had a pile of orange, yellow and pale rice… wondering if they taste any different… It is funny how one gets these sort of flashback.

Serving yellow rice, on a colorful plate

That was the only time in my childhood that I had seen that colorful rice. Later on, many many years later, I learned about Indian food. It was kinda different. More spice, stronger taste, mostly dullish yellow, rarely with speckles of orange. Okay, that reminded me, that I had a burning desire to learn how to make the rice so vibrantly colored.

Storing dry spices in tupperwares, onboard Calliste.

After some internet research, trial and errors… I finally got it down… my simplified version that I wont even dare call it Nasi Briyani! But its close, and its easy, and its probably much healthier by not adding ghee or any animal fat to it. The color part is probably the most important aspect… as far as I am concerned.. 😉 .. so I wont bother with the technicallity of tradition or not, authentic or not. (hey I am not even Indian to begin with) . … I dont have the real basmati rice that for this briyani, subsituted with Thai fragrant rice that I stock for everyday cooking. But I do stock the many spices needed for making my rice yellow and spicy.

Spice and Rice locker

Most cooking that I do is on the weekends, and weekends are mostly on Calliste now. .. The natural place to be storing my many spices is therefore the rice and spice locker onboard Calliste. .. And the wayof storing them properly is using small square tupperwares, labelled and stacked in the locker just behind the sink.

I never realize that so many spices are neccessary for my  cooking. Check out our stash! Gee… some are low. We really are not prepared to go on a long trip with our spices. .. yet, but we will definately fill every container before we head to the pacific.

0 Responses to “My yellow rice….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,772 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

