12
Jun
10

Home Cooking

I havent actually been cooking much lately, being busy with work at the office, moving boats around, StickY.BusinesS  and not doing too well health wise. Finally a weekend, after knocking off many important things to do during the day, found some time to indulge myself a little..

My kitchen. Like the mossiac stove top? "DIM" "Did It Myself"

Over the last 3 months, I had quite afew incidents of “Transient Ischemic Attack” or TIA for short. .. I am not even 40 and going thru this “mild stroke” sorta thing is depressing.. .. well.. anywell, the 1 thing that is established is that I have low haemo, caused by low iron… what causes low iron in my blood is still a mystery, 1 for the Gastro Intestinal clinic to sort out. .. but I will eat what I can and try to improve my condition.

I did a research on foods that are high iron and iron absorbtion aid and inhibitors. Ok, some modifications to my diet. Totally cut out tea drinking, because the tannine inhibits iron absorbtion by 70%! Less coffee drinking and never during mealtimes. Marmite is a good source of vit B6 and B12, essential for the body to form haemos. I like white bread and the nutritional info says it gives my 3mg iron for 2 slices, YES! I am having bread for breakfast as often as I can… or cereal is great too.

Cockle cevichi. Vit C is great for iron absorbtion

Seafood is a great source of iron… and cholesterol… but my chols levels are really good, and my iron levels are really bad! So I better wake up and realize that seafood is GOOD for me! So are EGGs!

Oven baked crab sticks and fish fingers

Currently, my blood iron is extremely low, indicating that my iron store (the liver) is depleted. RDA recommends 18mg iron per day for adult women, and I am setting my personal target at 30mg till my levels return to normal. … BTW, I am now counting my iron like how some people are counting calories… I have a tracking sheet… 🙂

Tada! My sorta seafood dinner.

Bread – 3mg, 1 large eg – 1mg, 100g beef – 3mg, 50g liver – 4.5mg, veggies – 1mg …. 100g boiled cockles – 28mg. Thats the comparison, seafood vs my regular foods..

Alrighty, so here it is… my dinner, oven baked crabsticks and fish fingers, 1 egg darkened with soy sauce, soupy rice and cockle cevichi on the side… + ice-cream beer float!

7 Responses to “Home Cooking”


  1. June 16, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Heyo, sorry to hear about your iron deficiency…you probably thought if this already but didn’t see it mentioned: Would iron supplements help?

  2. 2 funvinyldecals
    June 16, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Yah.. there are some side effects with iron tabs that I hope to avoid… and plus, my low iron is not due to low iron intake. That is the problem that needs to be addressed. Otherwise I may get iron toxicity poisoning. ..

    so anyway, iron tabs are for people whos food intake of iron is grossly insufficient.. like vegetarians, baby that are allergic to milk…

  3. 3 Anny
    October 7, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Do you know where I can find sea snails in the US? Frozen would be fine. Thanks!

  4. 4 funvinyldecals
    October 7, 2011 at 1:24 am

    I like to help u on that, especially since I will be moving there in a couple of years. Your question just reminded me that maybe they dont sell snails like we got around here! Arrgghhh!

    Anyway, I think you will have better luck finding canned snails instead. I have tried some of those here that are available here. Close subsitute, but nothing beats the real thing in a shell!

  5. 5 Anny
    October 7, 2011 at 1:51 am

    I don’t think they have sea snails in a can, right? You must be thinking of the land snails. Hey, I have enough of those around here! I was thinking of the other kind, like you find in Europe. Just came back from Brussels and had a few, but “need” more! They are cooked – a long time – in a broth with celery, salt, and pepper (a bit af pili pili too). Yummy!

  6. 6 funvinyldecals
    October 13, 2011 at 1:29 am

    Over here, we do get sea snails in a can, minus the shell of course. They are called “top shells”. And there are clams, abalone, cockels. … etc.

    Do you know the type of snail you are looking for? Perhaps if we narrow down the scope, ….

  7. 7 Anny
    October 13, 2011 at 1:37 am

    Not sure what their real name is. They are found in Belgium, and are often seen on street carts. They are served hot, in a broth, cooked with celery, pili pili etc… Few restaurants/cafes served them too. I know they are found frozen too, in Belgium, but I never heard of canned. Could send you a picture, but not sure how?


Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,080 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

