11
Feb
10

OhMy OhMy! Its CNY again!

This is one of those weeks that I am extremely busy… why? you might ask.. since I am not into celebrating CNY or V-day… well, lets just say I am “more or less” Chinese.. and I “more or less” enjoy having 2 new years every year.. πŸ™‚

Was done spring cleaning of Eleanor last weekend with great help from Doug.. everything was brought out and the interior cleaned thoroughly! I should have done this long time ago… but as you know.. never got to it..

And yes, there is much to prepare. .. nope, I am not baking new year cookies.. but I hope we wont starve while everyone else is gluttoning .. and I dont like to jam with the last minute groc and food shopping crowd… so I made a food itinary and got all the greds early! The art of frozen food cooking is Dougs’ speciality.. πŸ˜‰ ..

See! “clam juice”.. made from boiling real fresh clams 1 week before CNY and then frozen to keep fresh.. To use, empty contents into a big pot, add diced potatoes, carrots, onions and whatever… makes a great clam chowder!

.. and my groc list 5 days ahead of the big feast day? 1.5kg minced pork (thawed by the supermarket, freeze again by me… I think thats not very good… but it cant be helped), carrots, 1 turnip, lots of onions, 20 eggs…, bunch of chili, cloves of garlics, 3 packages of wanton skins … oh yes dried shrimps and waxed Chinese sausages.. and glutinous rice… yum! what am I going to make… πŸ™‚ you’ll see..

0 Responses to “OhMy OhMy! Its CNY again!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,833 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

