04
Jan
10

A layman’s case against the rich and powerful

If you dont already know about this case, do a search on Prita Mulyasari to read all that has been going on for more than a year now. I am happy to have read on 29/12/09, that she has been acquitted of the charges laid upon her. Follow this link and read the good news, http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/1027504/1/.html .

Over the New Year’s weekend, I had been thinking, why do I care about this woman and her plight? Other than sympathy, which makes me happy for her, why does this news affect me so much that I kept thinking about it? I may have gotten it all figured out by now.. not sure.. but I think case is a milestone in civil rights awareness in a developing country that is brought about by information technology that enabled Facebook. It gives me comfort to know that at least some good is coming out of the rapidly advancing technology…

I have for a long time, felt that my involvement (being part of the team that work on the 45nm, 32nm, 28nm and going into 22nm) with developing technologies was not leading to “goodness” in society. Everywhere I see kids (and adults) playing with electronic gadgets.. and shutting the rest of the world out of their minds.. and I think to myself, that when they are in a crowd, they are really alone in their world… That is sad, really. I should think, that there is a time to be alone, and a time to be alive. A time to see the world thru your very own eyes, beginning with your immediate surroundings.

Are we going into a age where our answer to “why do we have friends?” is “so that I have someone to send SMS to!” . Or are we going towards having no real friends, but have thousands of imaginery friends on Facebook? I thought we were… so like I said, I was really quite happy to know any case where technology made a real positive difference in someone’s life.

0 Responses to “A layman’s case against the rich and powerful”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,368 times
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

