24
Oct
09

Stop and Think!

This week started abit strange… I was overwhelmed with blogging energy. .. so I thought I would write up my job description for the benefit of my non engineering friends. .. How would I write about semiconductor technology and development over the years for the non technical mind..? Well, I tried.. see if you like it or not. https://funvinyldecals.wordpress.com/about/engr/what-is-ic-layout-design/ and https://funvinyldecals.wordpress.com/about/engr/physical-verification-of-ic-layout-design/ 

I did a bit of research before writing those. .. and after I finish, I begin to reflect on how the world changed in 30years that passed before my eyes. .. For example, I remember the 1st telephone that my family had.. it was analog and had the round spinning disc with holes and numbers… and it has a very loug ring to it. A few years later, it was replaced with a boxlike phone with square buttons and a ring that was more pleasant. .. and I remember using that phone alot! Teenage.. girls chat alot on the phone during that time. .. 🙂 At that time, mobile phones were not yet produced for the masses. So if you were planning something, its a definate commitment once you hang up. There can be no change of plans or any deviation, because there was no way to inform the other party! Many times, I have waited for friends at bus-stops and never really sure after 10mins, are they on their way. .. but cant leave because what if they turn up in the next minute. But look at us now. Always in touch. Everyone of us have a mobile phone! Unexpected delays, no shows, wrong bus-stops.. whatever! All these problems of the old days gone! … umm… could we live 1 day without our phone… ?

And what about those romantic days of writing letters and postcards to overseas friends or “pen-pals” ? And whatever happened to sending Christmas cards? … and ..er .. stamp collecting hobby?

Now do you see my point? .. probably no.. afterall, what is there to think about? .. .. I wonder if most people appreciate what modern technology has done for us? I mean, we obviously are in love with our gadgets, but do we savor the moment after we reestablish contact with a long lost friend over Facebook? I think.. deep down inside us, we want to remember those good ol’ times and good ol’ people. Modern communications just made it so easy.

Now, I am back in contact with some of my long lost friends on Facebook and ex colleagues on Linkedin. .. Have been doing alot of name search lately, some friends are not on these 2 great social networking sites yet.. hoping that they and more people will be on it, in time to come.

0 Responses to “Stop and Think!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,368 times
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

