03
Jul
09

Riding on the Sebana ferry

I use to travel on the bumboats plying Changi Village and Pengerang, on route to Sebana. Doing that route is somewhat incovenient, but way cheaper. Last weekend, I got into a argument with the guys that was running the setup. I was there at Pengerang terminal at 3pm, and I waited and waited for my turn onto the bumboat. Some people who came later than me got their seats before I did, and I was literally “bummed”. Finally, at 445pm, I was able to get my bumboat ride but it was the last 2 bumboats of the day. The captain of that bumboat smugly announced that his new fare is S$10(RM24), instead of the usual RM15/16. I was furious.

Then I realize that all the passengers in the last 2 boats were Singaporeans. Why is that? So that the captains can extort money from Singaporeans needing to go back!? I flatly refused to pay that new price as a matter of principle… that means I dont get to go on that ride. Fine, I go take the Sebana ferry and paid 2.5x the bumboat price! I have a problem with bad business practice and I will not go along with it! Even if its just $1, its still extortion!

Open upper deck. Looks like its pretty new. Airy and good view.

Open upper deck. Looks like its pretty new. Airy and good view.

My return trip to Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal (Singapore) was at 910pm. Late and dark on a lousy old ferry with a Taiwan series going on Channel 8. That was okay. .. sigh S$48 or RM110 for round trip. That really cost alot more, but the timing is better for me and I get to buy duty free on the ride back to Sebana. So the duty free savings may just totally cover it..

Air-conditioned lower deck. Flat screen TV, better seats.

Air-conditioned lower deck. Flat screen TV, better seats.

I wasnt expecting it, but my return to Sebana ferry ride was superb! Its pretty new, and I like the open deck very much! Look at my “travelling companions” .. 🙂 … and .. haha, I was the last passenger on board. Alright, there were only 2 of us on this Friday morning ride. She takes the lower and I keep the upper all to myself! Yippee! All that space was great! I could go left and right without incovenience to anybody… and so I did! I took plenty of pictures of ships today. Its just fascinating, those ships!

The shipping that defines Singapore

The shipping that defines Singapore

Speeding ahead! Our men who stop swimmers across the straits, smuggling and bad boys on SG waters.

Speeding ahead! Our men who stop swimmers across the straits, smuggling and bad boys on SG waters.

If not for the shipping trade, there wont be a city founded on the tiny island at the tip of the Malay Peninsular. Look at the number of ships hanging out within Singapore port limit! And our brave men on this Police Coast Guard vessel.

Closeup on a empty cargo ship serviced by a smaller working ship.

Closeup on a empty cargo ship serviced by a smaller working ship.

Another view of that cargo ship.

Another view of that cargo ship.

And below is a ship that I totally think is so weird looking… and its bright ORANGE .. .. like it wants to be noticed..
Maybe there is a reason for this split..

Maybe there is a reason for this split..

Any guess what this box like thing is? ..
Big ship for transporting cars and trucks all over the world.

Big ship for transporting cars and trucks all over the world.

Its a carpark on the seas! See the ramp on the stern? That how cars are loaded and unloaded. They are simply driven in and out.. Its a ugly looking thing.. practical, but eyesore.

Wish this picture was clearer..

Wish this picture was clearer..

 

Coming up next, a cute little thing (cute is relative to its surroundings)… a tugboat! The Tug boat. Unsung hero of Singapore “literal” expansion of land mass. 
The Tug boat. Unsung hero of Singapore "literal" expansion of land mass.

The Tug boat..

And the scene at the land reclaimation site. Men and machines that make it happen. .. Women are more reluctant to hurt Mother Nature, I think…

Growing island. .. The things man do to Mother nature.

Growing island. .. The things man do to Mother nature.

 

Ha ha... Hmm...

Ha ha... Hmm...

After 30mins of gawking at “men at work”.. and those great hulks of the sea.. we enter the peaceful flat waters of the Santi river. Things get abit slow around here..
There is no one around … alright, I’ll take my own picture.. like so many people do with their phones these days.. .. after many photos and 1 that turn out ok.. that I realize we have passed the fishfarm restaurants .. oops that would have been a nice picture to end this tripblog.. And oh yes, a picture of us arriving at Sebana would be great too.. Maybe Doug have one on file…
Oh well.. thats it folks.. til next time.
0 Responses to “Riding on the Sebana ferry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,786 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

