01
Jun
09

Disappointments…

This weekend I have to learn, once again that, NOT everything will turn out great. I am just grateful that its a small disaster, tho a big disappointment.

deep fried squid rings.. not quite what I had in mind

deep fried squid rings.. not quite what I had in mind

I have this “thing” about crispy squids. Deep friend baby squids are very commonly available around SG, MY. A little expensive, but not too bad. Like most people, I like what I cant afford more than what I can… I really like those sweet and sour and spicy crispy fried squid rings served at Pow Sing. They are so tasty, but rather expensive. SG$8 for a very small serving, hardly enough for me. I need 3 orders at least.

This weekend, I decided to try making it myself. I got a recipe online, got the ingredients and 1kg squids. Everything for just RM10. That was a great bargain… if it yields 20 servings of my favorite snack.. 🙂 Was so counting on it to turn out well.

deep fried squid and orangy flavoured sweet and sour dip.

deep fried squid and orangy flavoured sweet and sour dip.

The preparation process was more time consuming that I had thought. Washing the squids, gutting it out, slicing it.. maybe 1KG was too much for us.. But here we have it, and so we use it. Then rolling them in seasoned flour, dipping in egg and milk, throw them around in the tempura crumbs. Next, makes the sauce, which was easy. The deep frying was the most difficult part. We heated up the oil as much as we could, and it wouldnt stop spattering. 1 big burst threw hot oil on my hands and a drip on my face.. hope I wont be scarred becos of that.. and everywhere else in the cockpit had spots of oil..

We gave up on getting the squids crispy, it will just be deep fried calamari style, which in my opinion is not crispy. The taste was actually quite good. Fresh squid and good tempura batter + the really nice orange flavoured sweet and sour sauce.

Would we try making this dish again… ? Well. Maybe the time will come again..

0 Responses to “Disappointments…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,374 times
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

