25
May
09

Time for rice dumplings

Its traddition, tho I dont really know why, there is a time for making and eating rice dumplings. I have always enjoyed eating my rice dumplings and could eat 2 or 3 large ones for a meal.

Making my own rice dumplings

Making my own rice dumplings

My favorite is still the tradditional “salty” rice dumpling wrap with leaves and boiled. Its too much work to make those and .. erh, yes my skill level at wrapping them leaves are not there.. So, to save some effort, I am making them the “siew mai” style.

glutainous rice "siew mai"

glutainous rice "siew mai"

If you think that only Din Tai Fung serves rice dumpling in “siew mai” style, you are wrong. Way before them, I had already gotten the recipe from somewhere online. I 1st made them in 1999? Or somewhere around that time. It was not as good as a real rice dumpling.. but it has it place in my list of regular food. For this batch, I used another recipe that I got online… but I didnt like it as much.. Was too dry and too much seasoning. But it was easy to make and presented well for guest. Well, I just have to get the seasoning right next time..

0 Responses to “Time for rice dumplings”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,772 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

