17
May
09

Just another weekend project

Simple scratching post for hanging on door knob

Simple scratching post for hanging on door knob

Building a cat scratching post for my kitties. Been wanting to do this for a long time, aint it surprising how long it takes to actually getting around to doing something..? Well, so.. here it is.

This one is meant to be hang from a door knob. Very simple, easy to make. I think Snoozy will like this one. Snoozy has a room to herself.. lucky girl. She is the queen of the house.

Measuring 18″ x 6″ wide. Carpet is tacked in with nails. We did not use any glue, and glue wouldnt hold for very long…

Deluxe model.

Deluxe model. .. cutting the plywood to size

A more plush looking cat scratching post for the living. I think all my cats will love this one. Hope they will share… will they..? Hoping.. fingers crossed. Post is 24″ tall, mounted on a 18″x12″ base. I design this post after many year of observing my kitties and they scratching habits. They love to stretching and give it a go.

Here is a picture of the sacrificial chest of pinewood drawers in the living room. Well used by all 3 kitties.

Sacrificial chest of drawers showing its marks

Sacrificial chest of drawers showing its marks

MamaCat having a go at it.

MamaCat having a go at it.

cutting the plywood to size

cutting the plywood to size

Just for the fun of it, here are some pictures of us working on the cat furniture.

Langs nailing it in

Langs nailing it in

The carpet material that we use were given to us. They are job excesses that were too small for anything else. I am happy that we could have some good use out of it. If anybody wants a cat scratching post, let me know. We will build it for ya, for just a small fee to cover the plywood and other materials.

19 Responses to “Just another weekend project”


  1. June 2, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Hihi! Wow! you take very good care of your cats! Your poor cupboard! But one thing I’ve learnt, having pets means not being too particular about household stuff. 🙂

    PS: You’re quite a chef. All you food looks so ultra yummy!

  2. 2 funvinyldecals
    June 2, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Yeah, you’re right about not being too particular on furniture around the house. Cats are especially destructive. Dogs goes for the leather sofa..

    I am only motivated to do seafood cooking, especially shellfish. Know of any good recipes?

  3. 3 Azizah
    December 5, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Hi am interested to purchase the deluxe version of the cat scratching post. However, i am looking for a big one enough to hold the weight of a fat cat( i am not sure of the weight though but its really heavy to carry).

  4. 4 funvinyldecals
    December 5, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Hey thanks. My cat is really fat and heavy too. More than a pack of rice.. He is doing okay with the deluxe cat post. I set the post with support on the wall, so that it doesnt fall backwards when he lean his weight on it. My fat boy cat likes it alot, really. You can have black or blue carpet. I will build it next weekend if you confirm want it. Self collection in Hougang. So let me know.

  5. 5 Benny
    February 16, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Hi if I wan to purchase how to I go ahead?

  6. 6 funvinyldecals
    February 16, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    write to me … .. like u did 🙂

  7. 7 Titus
    June 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Hi, I’m interested in learning more about your scratching posts. Can we customise? Please feel free to email me back.

    Thank you.

  8. 8 Tricia
    July 20, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Hello, I’m interested in buying 2 of your scratching posts. Please email me back as I’d like to customise the dimensions. Thanks!

    Tricia

  9. 9 Lisa
    August 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Hi I would like to purchase a basic scratch post from you, please email me back, 🙂
    Thanks!

  10. 10 Siti
    September 21, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Hi, I’m interested in your scratching post. How much is it? Please email me, Thanks. (:

  11. 11 Kimmie
    October 3, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Am keen in the scratching post. Pls email me.

  12. 12 Azlina
    January 5, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Hi!

    Do you still make the above-mentioned scratching posts? I’m interested in getting hold of one for my brother’s cat.

    Thanks and best regards,
    Azlina

  13. 13 Shirley Ng
    February 16, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Hi there,

    I’m very keen to purchase the simple scratching post from you.
    Could you kindly contact me please?

    Cheers,
    Shirley

  14. 14 Victor
    April 29, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Hi there,
    Are you still making these scratching posts? I’d be happy to purchase the deluxe one, and support Cat Welfare at the same time. 🙂 Do contact me if you are still ‘in business’, thanks! (I know this is an old posting, but doesn’t hurt to try! 🙂
    Cheers,
    Victor

  15. 15 funvinyldecals
    May 2, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Hey, I just got back from holiday. In time for voting. I have only 1 left. Its a dark red super deluxe. Built very strong. $50. Check it out at blackmama.wordpress.com . The base is 20″x 20″, height is 20″ and the column is 5″ x 5″. Last one and wont be building any new ones for awhile.

  16. 16 wawa
    January 20, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Hi, I’m wawa and I like your work pieces and I’m inquiring if you are located in Singapore? How much will the delivery cost? How much will the assembly cost? How much do you charge for a customized cat scratching post? I want a custom made one, could you reply to my email a.s.a.p

  17. 17 funvinyldecals
    January 21, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Hi, thanks for the compliment. I am not making any more cat stands because I am out of carpet. Cheers.

  18. 18 Hisham
    September 1, 2013 at 2:57 am

    I would like to order 1. How to go about?

  19. 19 funvinyldecals
    September 3, 2013 at 2:28 am

    Sorry, we are on extensive travels these days and not making any soon. Thank you for interest.


Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,808 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

