17
Apr
09

Lets talk about home and land.. or waters

3 of my grandparents moved from China to Singapore, and Ah Ma was Straits Chinese ( meaning her folks had moved to Malaya sometime earlier than 1900.. ). Therefore, my parents were 1st generation Singaporeans… and me 2nd gen..

This is where I lived all my life.

This is where I lived all my life.

My public housing apartment is in one of those blocks, in the old town of Hougang. Ah Ma tells me, the lot that this block was built on, was a swamp that was filled in, probably in late 1960s. This whole area was rural kampong back then.

Rapid development means prosperity for the people, but … I seem to have lost my identity. Pretty much so. Other than memories, I dont have links to this land or this country. How sad is that? hmm… I dunno… I dont seem to care about such things anyway..

View from living room of my 12th floor apt

View from living room of my 12th floor apt

Most would consider my apt’s location as rural Singapore, and may refer to it as one of the few quaint old towns. Thats is just how I like it. Moderate traffic intensity, slower pace and fewer people. My favorite shopping mall is Toa Payoh, another quaint old town. There is definately more space in this mall than any other on this island country.

View from kitchen. Small airspace between buildings. Better than most newer development areas.

View from kitchen. Small airspace between buildings. Better than most newer development areas.

Singapore’s CBD and city center malls are fascinating, but I dont get many chances of going there when its not busy. Mostly, I avoid going during the evenings and weekends. .. And when I do go there, during those rare weekday afternoons, I feel like a tourist in a familiar place. Like I have been there many, many times, but never felt like home.

waterfront living, living on the water

waterfront living, living on the water

Well, anyway.. my purpose of this posting is to let it be known, that I am Singaporean, but thats just a nationality thing. I dont feel stuck like most city dwellers do, cos I have my options.. 🙂 . Eleanor and Calliste are my avenues for  waterfront living, exotic travels, journeying and adventure.

Alright.., I am stuck for now. Keeping my job and collecting my adventure chips. Thats reality. I hope reality is temporary..

0 Responses to “Lets talk about home and land.. or waters”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,849 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

