05
Mar
09

What is fun about vinyl decal stickers?

Howdy. Have anyone wondered about my blog name? I did. I wonder why, 3 months ago, did I settle on this name…? My original intention for this blog was to share my hobby of decorating everyday objects with vinyl decals and I thought it was fun. Since starting to blog, I found myself writing about alot of stuff that was also fun, but not related to decals… Hah! I am happy to find that there are many things in life that I so enjoy doing!

My 1st application of vinyl decals was on my 1st car in 1995. (Still trying to find a picture of it from my albums.., its not digital!) I had great feedback for this very cute little car with pawprints from front to back. I enjoyed getting feedback, always. My 1st custom vinyl application was for my 1st boat, Sea Sparrow. It was a legal requirement for boat to display name and registration. Then there was a new car to decorate and Eleanor and furniture and etc. It was reasonably priced to order custom letterings, but the prices for custom decals were too much. That was the time when I decided to invest in my own little vinyl cutting machine.

Custom flower decals on Trio, Jan 2007

Custom flower decals on Trio, Jan 2007

Picture of Trio and Drax with custom decals that I made. My 1st works.

Drax decorated with chain of 4 petal flowers

Drax decorated with chain of 4 petal flowers

There were some initial problems with setup and stuff, but after a while, I get the hang of it. Now ready to try some challenging designs. Check out my cute little guys. My favorite cartoon charactor Woodstock! Yes, I like Snoopy too, and Odie!

My personal cartoon collection

My personal cartoon collection

Showing off my personal collection on a clear folder. I place a sheet of Azure blue material in the folder, that gave a a nice contrast.

Below, a picture of my setup. Notice that there are 2 cutters in my setup? Within a year of my small 12″ cutter, I decided it was time for a 24″ cutter. Also notice the different colours rolled away in the box behind? I certainly beat most shops in available colour selection and I wont hesitate to order any colour that is necessary to do the job, no matter how small.

The new Sticky Business room. Ready for business.

The new Sticky Business room. Ready for business.

Here I am, ready (and hoping for more business) to sell vinyl decals big time. Currently I am preparing for a local university bazaar, NUS 16 – 18Mar. Sharing the booth with my sis who is going to sell her Swarovski beaded little things. Will be cutting custom stickers on site. See how that goes, hoping for the best. Thanks for reading, and I appreciate your business. 🙂
6 Responses to “What is fun about vinyl decal stickers?”


  1. 1 seowyin
    March 18, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Wah, so this is your new business? Cool wor…I wish you great success in the bazaar 🙂

  2. 2 funvinyldecals
    March 18, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Thanks! I am back from the last day of the bazaar. Sales was so-so, but it was fun and the exposure was great! More people now knows me and where to get stickers/decals.

  3. March 25, 2009 at 12:35 am

    I truly appreciate you taking the time to share this . Look forward to more posts from you

  4. March 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Nice job! Like many others, I am just getting started on my new blog. The tips you provided are most useful.

  5. April 3, 2009 at 7:28 am

    I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  6. 6 funvinyldecals
    April 6, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Thanks for the feedback and encouragement. Please visit again and do leave comments when you can. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,080 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

