08
Feb
09

My recent projects

I had been on the computer since age 10, on the internet since 1995, did my 1st online shopping 2002. An impressive computer and internet history… I would think. But I had never thought that I would do any websites or sell anything online, till late last year. My sis got me interested in it with the interest that she was generating from her lousy(my honest opinion) blogsite. See it for yourself, www.swark.wordpress.com . I mean, she must really do a better website.  But she is really not a programming person.

So here I am, setting up my 1st websites. Since I am doing it, I might as well do 1 for Sticky Business too. 1st of all, I must thank the Singapore National library for having a great selection of HTML and web programming books. Diligently, I spent afew weekends working with the books and coding. In 2 weeks my sites were up on Geocities. Just a initial amatuerish kinda site, open for critique. Thanks to all the feedbacks, condemnations, advises, suggestions that I got from friends, colleagues and fellow webmasters, I believe my sites are much more attractive than when it 1st began

Update: Geocities is gone. Now we are on wordpress.

See what is now today, www.coolvinyldecals.wordpress.com and www.swark.wordpress.com . And remember, I would like your feedbacks.

Anyway, back to working on my sisters’ site. This job needed me to unearth my old Nikon 5700 and missing battery charger. Had to get a replacement charger, but the pictures turn out very well indeed. At the same time, I bought a new Nikon L16 with a $150 voucher from my old trusty Standard Chartered Bank CC. The L16 only cost me $50 including 4 rechargeables.

Crystal beaded dolphin, side view.

Crystal beaded dolphin, side view.

This L16 is great! I discover that newer cameras have built in on the fly photo editing features! Wow! Only $50 to me… 

terrier1

Yorkshire Terrier. Picture taken with Nikon 5700

How is this compared to pictures with my old trusty 5700? This Yorkshire terrier is taken with the 5700 on a rather difficult setup due to lighting constraints in the house. The Dolphin had better light conditions outdoor, so its really different, but the clarity of the 5700 is really better. Er… what say u? 

Ok, now with the better pictures, does the site look better and more organized?

This project had been fun. Now its in the maintenance mode. Not many new features to add, just more content every now and then… Phew, moving on to something else soon.

Hope you guys enjoy my posting and websites. Thanks for reading… 🙂 And remember to feedback!

0 Responses to “My recent projects”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 80,833 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

