16
Jan
09

Intro Eleanor

Eleanor sailing in to berth

Eleanor sailing in to berth

I took a friend sailing on a perfect blue sky day. Eleanor is such a pretty little boat.  She sails well with very little wind.

Eleanor is a 19ft Cape Dory Typhoon Weekender, built in 1974 somewhere on the East coast of US. Story of Eleanor and Lang.

I had just completed sail training and have a little dinghy, Sea Sparrow that I sail around in. In late 2004, I was in the US and met a friend of a Doug’s, Ron Walton. Ron took me sailing in San Francisco bay on board Majita, his 24ft Lyle Hess designed, Falmouth Cutter. It was a boisterous day out on the bay. Probably not for a faint hearted beginner, but I took it well and rode it all the way out and back.

I met Ron again, 1 week later, looking for a boat to buy. Buying a 20ft Hunter has been on my mind for quite awhile actually, not much support from my sailing friends for thinking that. A Hunter! How un-nautical… 

So we were dock walking in Alameda Marina, and one of the fellas on a boat pointed us to a small boat at the parking lot. Its been there for years, he say. Walking towards the boat parking lot, I straightaway found the perfect boat for me. It was very distinctive, pretty lines and small enough for me. Got into contact with the seller, agreed on the price and within 2 weeks, Eleanor with packed into a container and on its way to Singapore!

Eleanor was launched at Punggol in Dec 2004. Her 1st taste of water after 10years on the parking lot back in Alameda CA, US.

Since launching, Eleanor received many upgrades (that was necessary). New sails, new outboard and wood board replaced, new cockpit drains,  boot access, solar ventilator, cabin seat and cushions, new cabin paint. .. .. and DODGER!

She is now ready to sail anytime when the conditions are right. Such a pretty little boat and she is just perfect for me.

2 Responses to “Intro Eleanor”


  1. 1 Zen
    January 16, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Cool, I think I remember that boat!

    So are you doing the 3BF race?

    zenseka2.wordpress.com

  2. 2 funvinyldecals
    January 17, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    No 3BF race for us. Eleanor and I are in Singapore/Malaysia area.
    If you are doing the race, good luck and have fun!


Leave a Reply

Sailing 2015: Port Townsend(WA, US) -> Costes Island (BC, Canada)

Sailing 2013: Singapore -> Okinawa -> Kobe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

Locations of visitors to my blog

I've been hit!

  • 81,632 times

RSS BlackMaMa’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Please drop a penny


Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Snails & Slugs

The fascinating world of gastropods

Vitae - A Photographic Journey

Finding 'Balance in Life'. A lifelong objective through Photography and Literary Expression

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

